Glitterbox Disco’s Revenge

Released the same day as Glitterbox closes its 16-date summer season at Hï Ibiza, Glitterbox – ‘Disco’s Revenge’ captures the hedonism of the party’s extravaganza. Spread over three mixes which have been selected and curated by founder and label boss Simon Dunmore, the album gets to the very essence of ‘dance music’ in its truest sense; music which moves your body and your soul. The standout tracks are a mixture of brand new funk-laden cuts, all-time house classics and rare disco treasures.

There’s plenty of upfront freshness; Qwestlife’s ‘Give Me A Minute’ provides lush string moments and irresistible vocal hooks, bringing a quintessential nu-disco vibe. The Shapeshifters lend their house sound into the blend with ‘When Love Breaks Down’ featuring the voice of Teni Tinks, while Dr Packer debuts his mix of the Soulfuric staple ‘Find A Friend’ by DJ John ‘Julius’ Knight, all of which tracks are forthcoming on Glitterbox Recordings. 


Further new material comes from Bwi-Bwi ‘Insight’, a jackin’ chordal house cut; the grooving ‘One True Light’ from Crazy P and a collaboration between Joey Negro and Horse Meat Disco ‘Dancing Into The Stars’. 


Giving a nod to the album’s title, Gusto’s nu-disco record of the same name features as the lesser-known ‘Mole Hole Dirty Mix’, capturing the joy of Glitterbox with its familiar hook that commands you to move. Distilling that universal spirit are iconic grooves like Patrice Rushen ‘Never Gonna Give You Up’, Richie Havens ‘Going Back To My Roots’, Whitney Houston ‘It’s Not Right But It’s Okay’ (KCC’s Release The Love Groove Mix) and Debbie Jacobs ‘Don’t You Want My Love’. 


It’s out 29 September on Glitterbox Recordings. Check online for the tracklist, it’s pretty special.