Jamie Odell aka Jimpster sets his sights back on the album format with his long-player; ‘Silent Stars’. A self-confessed creature of the night, the Freerange Records and Delusions Of Grandeur boss taps into his nocturnal and escapist impulses to deliver a modern-day fusion album. His seventh studio album and first since 2013's ‘Porchlight And Rocking Chairs’, this is an album dedicated to the nocturnal hours. 

Jimpster (© Alysha Kostamo-Mao)
Jimpster (© Alysha Kostamo-Mao)

‘Silent Stars’ is a richly textured ride through the tapestry of house, from jazz-infused opener 'Migrations' through to the dense, orchestral euphoria of 'Tau Tona' and the minimal, percussive bounce of title track 'Silent Stars'. The listener edges a touch closer to the dancefloor on tracks like 'Yansa' and 'Power Of The Doof' - yet the grooves stay subtle with intricate percussion, dense sound design and a mischievous streak being palpable throughout. 

A range of guests are welcomed on the album. Londoner Florence Rawlings adds her vocals on 'Crave' and 'Everytime' and past collaborator and member of Kirk Degiorgio's The Beauty Room, Jinadu weaves emotional soul on album center-piece 'The Sun Comes Up'. Khalil Anthony lends his vocals on 'Where You Are' and session drummer Andy Gangadeen (Massive Attack, Chase & Status, The Bays) lays down his beats on 'Tau Tona'. 

Jimpster is a true veteran of the house scene, a custodian of the authentic deep house sound and a producer who has quietly created electronic music over the past two decades.

The LP came introduced by first single, 'CRAVE' with remixes from Flabaire and Atjazz. A second single will follow in June with remixes from Peggy Gou and Urulu. 

It’s out now, check out the sampler below.

© justaweemusicblog.com