Ralph Lawson

Ralph Lawson

2020Vision celebrates its 20th anniversary this year by releasing ‘Content’, a compilation mixed by Ralph Lawson featuring 20 exclusive new original tracks and remixes. The album will be augmented by a series of parties across the planet including Fabric, Sonar, Hideout, Ibiza, Berlin, New York, Los Angeles, Milan, Munich, Zurich, Glasgow, Leeds and beyond.

You can tell a lot about a label by the friends it keeps, which include Matthew Herbert, Eats Everything, Simian Mobile Disco, Groove Armada, Cassy, Matthias Tanzmann, Psychemagik, Dense & Pika, Tom Trago, Huxley, Waze & Odyssey, Ejeca, PBR Streetgang, Doc Daneeka and Citizen among them, which may make ‘Content’ a strong contender for compilation of the year from the tracklist alone.

Ralph Lawson
Ralph Lawson

2020Vision was founded on a farm in the Rhubarb Triangle Leeds, UK in 1994 and helped launch the careers of Maya Jane Coles, Motor City Drum Ensemble, Huxley, Ame, DJ T, Ivan Smagghe, Paul Woolford, Audiojack, Simon Baker, PBR Streetgang, Subb-an, FCL, Fred Everything, Spirit Catcher, Tuccillo and more recently, Citizen, plus album artists such as Crazy P, 2020Soundsystem, Greg Wilson, Stacey Pullen, Deadbeats, Random Factor and Debukas.


In the early days, the farm would play host to Back To Basics after-parties where the likes of Derrick Carter, Weatherall, Ron Trent, Stacey Pullen, Mr C, Alton Miller, and Josh Wink would stay for days.


2020Vision has a discography that stretches over 250 singles and 30 albums and is the sole survivor from the crop of early ‘90s British house labels including Paper, NRK, Classic and Nuphonic, and outlived many more contemporaries since.


‘Content’ is out 30 June.

© justaweemusicblog.com

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Dia Claro (Sunday, 22 January 2017 03:01)

    Hi Dear, are you in fact visiting this site regularly, if so afterward you will absolutely obtain fastidious know-how.