Joey Negro

Remixed With Love By Joey Negro

Joey Negro is the most well-known pseudonym of British DJ/producer/remixer Dave Lee. Under a plethora of other monikers including Jakatta, Akabu, Doug Willis, Raven Maize, The Sunburst Band, Sessomatto, and Z Factor, Dave was one of the first artists to incorporate disco samples in house music when he began his production career in 1988. 



Linked with the birth of soulful house in the UK, Dave set up the dance music division of Rough Trade. His discography is undoubtedly as impressive as his knowledge of seminal house and disco, and now he puts it to good use with this album, ‘Remixed With Love By Joey Negro’, where he revisits some of disco’s most sparkly moments.

Remixed With Love By Joey Negro

Joey Negro: “Often you end up speaking to relatives of the person who actually made the record and unfortunately I heard the line all too often, “I might have a copy of the vinyl somewhere but I definitely don’t know where the master tapes are."


As a fanatical music collector and enthusiast Joey found himself meeting up with ex-label reps and relatives of the artists leaving no stone unturned - searching through boxes and in lofts. One multi-track was even under the producer’s bed. 


Rather than remixes in their modern definition this is a body of re-edits with the tracks given a new dimension to make them relevant and playable now. In many cases he has changed the drums, added percussion and sometimes keyboard parts but not totally ditched the music and started again as is often the way with straight up house remixes. This project is about utilising some of those fantastic original parts in a different way hat takes advantage of many of the songs classic status subtly teasing in familiar elements and dubbing them out. 


It’s out this month.



Full tracklisting


CD One

1 Mass Production - Welcome To Our World (Joey Negro Funk In The Music Mix)

2 Patrice Rushen - Haven't You Heard (Joey Negro Extended Disco Mix)

3 Roxy Music - The Same Old Scene (Joey Negro Disco Scene Mix)

4 TW Funkmasters - Love Money (Joey Negro Dubwise Revision)

5 Karen Young - Hot Shot (Joey Negro Sure Shot Mix)

6  Narada Michael Walden - Tonight (I'm Alright) (Joey Negro Spirit of ‘79 Mix)

7  Loleatta Holloway - Hit And Run (Joey Negro Dub Sensation)

8  Kleeer – Tonight’s The Night (Good Time) (Joey Negro Partytime Tonight Mix)

9  Phreek feat. Donna McGhee - May My Love Be With You (Joey Negro Tribute To Patrick Adams)


CD Two

1  Kleeer - I Love To Dance (Joey Negro Extended Disco Mix)

2  Mass Production - Cosmic Lust (Joey Negro 7 Minutes of Jazz Funk Mix)

3  Ashford & Simpson - Over And Over (Joey Negro Find A Friend Mix)

4  Roy Ayres - Get On Up Get On Down (Joey Negro Revibe)

5  Narada Michael Walden - I Should’ve Loved Ya (Joey Negro Should've Dubbed Ya Mix)

6  Matt Bianco - Half A Minute (Joey Negro Sunburnt Mix)

7  Electric Empire – Always (Joey Negro Classic Mix)

8  Princess Freesia – Freesia (Joey Negro Cookie Dough Mix)

9  Bobby Caldwell - Down For The Third Time (Joey Negro Down For The 4th Time Edit)

Write a comment

Comments: 3
  • #1

    Theola Bower (Sunday, 22 January 2017 11:11)

    I am extremely impressed along with your writing skills as well as with the layout in your weblog. Is this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a great blog like this one nowadays..

  • #2

    Belle Miga (Tuesday, 31 January 2017 11:53)

    It's remarkable to pay a quick visit this web site and reading the views of all friends regarding this piece of writing, while I am also eager of getting knowledge.

  • #3

    Bethany Coombs (Tuesday, 31 January 2017 18:40)

    It's awesome to go to see this web site and reading the views of all friends concerning this paragraph, while I am also eager of getting know-how.