Maya Jane Coles

2017 will see Maya Jane Coles release her second album, ‘Take Flight’, on her own label I/AM/ME via Skint Records/BMG. The album is her most substantial body of work to date and is the follow up to her debut album ‘Comfort’ (2013) and her ‘Nocturnal Sunshine’ project (2015). The album has been preceded by the EP ‘Won’t Let You Down’, which is apparently receiving worldwide support from DJs in the clubs and on the radio - Pete Tong made the title track his “Essential New Tune”. 

Maya Jane Coles
Maya Jane Coles

Featuring remixes of ‘Won’t Let You Down’ from Catz ’n Dogz and Paride Saranceni, album track Cherry Bomb’ plus ‘Round In Circles’, the EP’s various tracks saw premieres with Wonderland, Mixmag, Complex and Grooveand Huffington Post. A further EP ‘Weak/Werk’ will drop shortly soon.


On this album – as with all her releases - she has written, produced, engineered, arranged, mixed and performed every track, even designing the artwork herself. Opening track ‘Weak’ kicks off the album with soundscapes and low-slung drums, title track ‘Take Flight’ offers a trip-hop inspired beat with a psychedelic twist.


The album sees guest appearances from singer-songwriter and long time Maya collaborator Chelou on ‘Darkside’, which is slow, vivid and immersive; We Fell To Earth singer Wendy Rae Fowler on ‘A Chemical Affair’ and ‘Misty Morning’ before singer Rachel Butt from the band GAPS features on ‘Keep Me Warm’. Maya released GAPS debut album on I/AM/ME.  


From ‘Passing Me By’ to ‘Trails’, ‘Take Flight’ offers an eclectic selection of tracks.


‘Take Flight’ is out today on Double CD / Heavy Weight 3 x Vinyl Box Set / Digital plus a limited Deluxe Hardback Book CD format will also be exclusively available via Maya’s artist store.