Following on from the success of the recent ‘Italo House’ and ‘Remixed With Love’ compilations, ZR returns with another compilation to start 2015. Supafunkanova Volume 2’ has been selected by Joey Negro and Sean P, who together have compiled many previous albums including ‘Disco (Not Disco)’, ‘Destination Boogie’ and the ‘Soul Of Disco’ series. The duo continue to dig deep, compiling albums filled with lesser known disco and boogie releases. 

As the title suggests, ‘Supafunkanova’ focuses on the funkier end of the ‘70s and ‘80s, showcasing some of the bumpier grooves recorded in the disco era when even James Brown had to take notice of the Saturday Night Fever inspired disco explosion. It will come as no surprise to hear some particularly hard to find tracks have been unearthed here, and ones that aren't just rare but genuinely merit being re-issued.

The duo have been working on Volume Two for some time now as the first instalment was released way back in 2007. It takes a while to put these albums together, tracking down the owners of these tracks, finding the right image for the sleeve and so forth but it's finally come together. 

The release features 20 tracks spread across a double CD with highlights including the boogie synth infused Airplay ‘Drive Me Crazy’ and the ‘White Horse’-ish ‘Cool Out' by Magnum Force. Things get more DC GoGo style on ‘Super Stimulus’ by Stimulus, ex Skullsnap Sam Culley’s jazz funky ‘Walk’, whilst the soulful Teena Marie-ish ‘Sound Reason’ by Splash gets an exclusive Joey Negro edit.

Volume One has always been a firm favourite among those who have a copy but it has been out of press for a few years now and was never released on vinyl so ZR has decided to repress and repackage the original with new artwork and release it again as a new double CD and gatefold double LP.

It’s out 9 March on Z Records.


Write a comment

Comments: 0